“Me” not “We”

I don’t think you will ever understand the way that I love you. I can try my hardest to explain:

I love you in the way that the sun loves the moon. She dies every night just so that the moon can rise.  She sets every evening but she always rises at dawn. Nothing can change that. The sun is the sun and the moon is the moon. I refuse to change me for you but I would go around the world if it meant us being together again.

I love you in the way that the moon loves his stars. He is always there for them. He must be very unhappy but he continues on. Stars leave his side every night. They fall right out of the sky and he has to watch the whole thing happen. He continues to watch this because he knows that the sight, although devastating, is beautiful to us here on Earth. I am willing to sacrifice, for you, certain things in my life.

I love you in the way that the waves love the shore. The waves come through just to meet with the shore and then retreat once again. They retreat because lost items must be washed up on shore. They retreat because the shore needs to breathe. The waves come in strong with anticipation for the shore’s warm sand and retreat just to do it all over again. I would do that all for you. I would spend time away if it meant we could spend time together.

I love the parts of you that others hate because they make you unique. The sun and moon work so well together even though they have never touched. The moon loves the stars even though the stars shine brighter and are held to a higher importance more times than not. The waves love the shore even though when they crash down the pain seems almost unbearable. The pain of not having your second half can be worse than the pain that you feel when you are with them.

I love you in the way that I stayed with you for so long even though I hurt myself in the process. I must now learn to live without my second half because I have realized that “me” can come before “we”. I must learn to adjust to being alone and taking the time to focus on myself. I didn’t get to do those things before and now I get to breathe. I no longer have to feel the pain of the burning rope as I try to hold tight. I no longer have to flail in the water trying to stay afloat.

I get to be beautiful and strong and I get to feel more alive than I have in a while.

I get to be “me” not “we”.

One thought on ““Me” not “We”

Leave a Reply

