Together but Separate

Are you in a relationship and feel like you are constantly saying to people, “Oh yeah! We could spend the whole day apart, not talk or text, and we are still perfectly fine”? I feel that way too and I say this exact line to people all the time. But if I am being honest with myself, it is actually really hard to go the whole day without seeing or talking to him.

People say that when you’re living with someone things start to change and you can then spend time away from them and still come home and be around each other. That’s great but when I come home and my person isn’t there it’s hard to not feel that little twinge of hurt. It is kind of like some sort of separation anxiety.

I know that I give this weird look to people who say that they run everything by their significant other before doing anything but on some level I understand it. It actually gives you some reason to talk to your person before going on your way. I get out of work and call him just to let him know that I am on my way home. That is a normalcy for me and, for some reason, I get a little sad and, maybe even lost, when I see a text when I get out of work that says, “I won’t be there when you get home. I’m out with [a friend]”.

Maybe I don’t like change or maybe I actually have some sort of separation anxiety in a way. Some days I just want everything to be excessively simple. But for me? Nothing is ever simple. I don’t know if it is me or if everyone else makes things difficult. Maybe it is just me. My insecurities, my doubts, my fears, and my thoughts.

Well… Everyone always said I had to be the center of attention, so maybe they were right.

One thought on “Together but Separate

Leave a Reply

